Montgomery and the Blacknificent 7

November 22, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Jesse Montgomery and the Blacknificent 7 perform at the CSO's Symphony Center

Jessie Montgomery, Carlos Simon, and Jasmine Barnes join WFMT to preview of CSO MusicNOW’s upcoming program, Montgomery and the Blacknificent 7. Curated by Mead Composer-in-Residence Jessie Montgomery, the concert on December 3 will feature works by Barnes, Shawn E. Okpebholo, Dave Ragland, Joel Thompson, and Damian Geter, and will include performances by Carlos Simon and Russell Thomas with conductor Donald Lee III.


Jessie Montgomery: Rounds
Awadagiin Pratt, piano
A Far Cry

Giuseppe Verdi: Messa da Requiem
VIII. Ingemisco
Russell Thomas, tenor
New York Philharmonic
Alan Gilbert, conductor

Traditional (arr. Simon): Amazing Grace
Randall Goosby, violin
Carlos Simon, piano

Carlos Simon: Requiem for the Enslaved
V. remember me
Alyssa Wang, violin
Jesse Christeson, cello
Hub New Music

Simon: Loop
Carlos Simon Collective

Jasmine Barnes: Portraits: Douglass and Tubman
IV. “The Riot”
V. “Death or Liberty”
VI. “Every Great Dream”
Jasmine Barnes, narrator
Baltimore Choral Arts Society Chorus & Orchestra
Anthony Blake Clark, conductor

Barnes: Peace
Lawrence Brownlee, tenor
Kevin J. Miller, piano

Montgomery: Hymn for Everyone
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Riccardo Muti, conductor