Unearthed Americana: Works by Ives, Paine, and Schuman

January 12, 2024, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Composer Virgil Thomson, looking stern
Virgil Thomson

This week, we present a collection of rarely-heard works by American masters in recordings from the orchestra’s archives. Included are Three Places in New England by Charles Ives, the Symphony No. 1 by John Knowles Paine, and the Symphony No. 8 by William Schuman.


Charles Ives: Three Places in New England
Kurt Masur, conductor

John Knowles Paine: Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 23
Leopold Stokowski, conductor

Virgil Thomson: The Mother of Us All: Suite
Leonard Bernstein, conductor

William Schuman: Symphony No. 8
Leonard Bernstein, conductor