Alban Gerhardt, Marin Alsop, and the German Symphony Orchestra

German Symphony Orchestra, Berlin | January 25, 2024, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Marin Alsop sits cheerfully, wearing a black leather jacket and holding a conductors baton against a white backdrop
Marin Alsop (Photo: Nancy Horowitz)

Marin Alsop leads the German Symphony Orchestra, Berlin, in a performance of Jessie Montgomery, Brett Dean, and Antonín Dvořák.

Drawing on American folk idioms and the spirit of dance and movement, Montgomery’s Strum moves from nostalgia to ecstatic celebration. Dean’s Cello Concerto, here exceptionally performed by Alban Gerhardt, plays with recurring motives and rhythms that moves seamlessly between intimate, dreamy, and agitated emotions. The concert closes with Dvořák’s familiar and timeless New World Symphony.


Jessie Montgomery: Strum for string orchestra

Brett Dean: Cello Concerto (2018)
Alban Gerhardt, cello

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, “From the New World”, Op. 95