Fresh Inspirations: Cuong, Berlioz, Walton, and Ravel

California Symphony | March 4, 2024, 10:00 pm

Share this Post

Composer Viet Cuong poses in front of a backdrop and a sunlit window
Viet Cuong (Photo: Aaron Jay Young)

In this performance, Viet Cuong, California Symphony’s Composer-in-Residence from 2020- 2023, premieres his work Stargazer featuring Sarah Cahill at the piano. Walton’s Symphony No. 1 continues music director Donato Cabrera’s exploration of works written around the time of the Second World War, with its time-honored trajectory from darkness to light. Ravel’s audience favorite Mother Goose Suite ends the program.


Hector Berlioz: Roman Carnival Overture, Op. 9
Viet Cuong: Stargazer (World Premiere, CA Symphony commission)
William Walton: Symphony No. 1 in B-flat minor
Maurice Ravel: Ma Mère l’Oye (Mother Goose)