The Atlanta School

February 24, 2017, 10:00 pm

Share this Post

Conductor Robert Spano and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra have created a thriving community of composers who have come to be known as “The Atlanta School”. They include Jennifer Higdon, Christopher Theofanidis, Osvaldo Golijov, and Michael Gandolfi, and this week we’ll listen to their music.


The Garden of Cosmic Speculation, mvts. I-III, by Michael Gandolfi
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra; Robert Spano, conductor

Drumsound Rises from The Here & Now, by Christopher Theofanidis
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus; Robert Spano, conductor

Second Wave & Aria fr. Oceana, by Osvaldo Golijov
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra & Chorus; Luciana Souza, voice

On a Wire, by Jennifer Higdon
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra; Robert Spano, conductor; Eighth Blackbird