Re Zhang

May 17, 2017, 12:15 pm

Share this Post

Re Zhang, piano, performing works by Beethoven and Rachmaninoff.


6 Variations on an Original Theme in F Major, Op. 34
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)

Etudes-tableaux, Op. 33
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Allegro
III. Grave
IV. Moderato
V. Non Allegro—Presto
VI. Allegro con fuoco
VII. Moderato
VIII. Grave
Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 – 1943)


Re Zhang, originally from Beijing, China, is currently a student at the Peabody Conservatory studying with Professor Boris Slutsky. She completed her Master’s degree at The Juilliard School studying under Stephen Hough and Matti Raekallio. She secured a Bachelor’s degree from Oberlin Conservatory with Honors in piano performance, where she studied with Robert Shannon. She began studying piano at age five and first performed on the stage at the age of six.

In 2000, Ms. Zhang took part in the Sixth Piano Open Competition of YMCA-YWCA, and was awarded the first prize. In 2004, she enrolled in the music middle school attached to The Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing, gaining admittance with the top score on the entrance exam that year.

In January of 2006, she was awarded the Silver Medal in the 7th International Chopin Piano Competition in Asia. Later that year, she took part in the International Piano Competition for Young Musicians in Holland and was awarded 3rd Prize. In 2010, she won the statewide scholarship from the Tuesday Musical Scholarship Auditions. In 2011, she won the Rudolf Serkin Scholarship, and the following year was awarded the Oberlin Conservatory’s John Elvin Prize – awarded to a student judged by the piano department to be the most talented in the junior class. Later that year, in April, she went on to win The Arthur Dann Piano Competition, and last year she took the Silver Medal in the New Orleans Piano Competition.