Dynasty Battles

August 15, 2018, 12:15 pm

Share this Post

Pianist Dynasty Battles presents a program of Beethoven and Scriabin on this live Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert broadcast.

Hailing from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Dynasty Battles is a visionary concert pianist with a unique approach to his blend of music. Battles, a favorite performer of the W. Russell Johnson Music Guild, has won a variety of accolades on regional and national levels. He has been featured together with soprano Marietta Simpson, in the Philadelphia Inquirer, and on music critic David Patrick Stearns’ radio program, “Creatively Speaking”, on Philadelphia’s WRITI (90.1 FM).

Battles was invited to play George Walker’s Piano Sonata No.1 in a private engagement at the distinguished composer’s home. He recently performed a piano quartet at the Walt Disney Concert Hall at the invitation of LA Philharmonic. The program was led by composer and the LA Philharmonic creative chair, John Adams. Battles soon after performed at Barbican Centre Hall in London – A program led by the LA Philharmonic music director, Gustavo Dudamel. He was a solo performer at the 2017 Colour of Music Festival in Charleston, South Carolina.

Battles currently studies under Leon Bates, a protégé of the legendary Natalie Hinderas. He also studies counterpoint and harmony and analysis with Jonathan Coopersmith, Chair of Musical Studies at the Curtis Institute of Music. He began his studies at Settlement Music School and received his Bachelor’s degree cum laude in Piano Performance at Temple University, where he was a student of Harvey Wedeen and a recipient of the Esther Boyer College Scholarship.

Battles has a personal and compelling approach to the piano, pouring emotion and excellence into every note. His performances are particularly notable for his delicate approach to the keys, adding a layer of complexity and grace to even the most common composition. Battles’ performances incorporate works from the traditional classical repertoire as well as rarely performed compositions. His interpretations are faithful to the mastery of the original, with a beautiful and lush tone. As part of his concert, he can take suggestions from the audience and arrange themes and melodies on the spot, composing new material right then and there; performing spontaneous improvisations that highlight his unique sensibility with the instrument’s dynamics.

Biography provided by the International Music Foundation

  • Piano Sonata No. 17 in D minor, Op. 31, No. 2 “The Tempest” by Ludwig van Beethoven
    Largo – Allegro

  • Étude in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 2, No. 1, by Alexander Scriabin

  • Prelude for the Left Hand, Op. 9, by Alexander Scriabin

  • Piano Sonata No. 4, Op. 30, by Alexander Scriabin
    Prestissimo volando