Esther Lee and Sung Chang

May 29, 2019, 12:15 pm

Share this Post

The husband and wife duo Sung Chang and Esther Lee presents music for piano four hands by Bach, Liszt, and Piazzolla for this live Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concert broadcast.

Enjoy this video excerpt of Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 from the duo's performance

Husband and wife duo team, Sung Chang and Esther Lee have been playing together since 2010 while studying at Hochschule fuer Musik Theater und Medien Hannover in Germany. After only six months as a piano duo, they won first prize and the Best Performance of Schubert Award in the 17th International Schubert Competition for Piano Duo, where no second prize was awarded. Most recently, they won the Beverly Hills National Audition and appeared in numerous venues throughout Southern California. They have had distinguished opportunities performing in Germany, Czech Republic, Korea and the United States. Some of their involvements include performing at “art la danse” with the Goettingen Chamber Choir and Dance ensemble, in the “Young Music Elite” series in Germany, and concert series in Korea and the United States. Individually, Chang has gone on to win more than ten international competition including the 7th Bösendorfer USASU International Piano Competition, the 12th San Antonio International Piano Competition in United States, Valsesia Musica International Competition in Italy, and the International 13, Wettbewerb der Chopin-Gesellschaft Hannover e.V in Germany. Lee is a recipient of multiple awards from numerous competitions, including the Jeunesses International Music Competition in Romania, International Piano Competition “Citta Di Caraglio” in Italy and the Franz Liszt International Competition in the United States.

Chang and Lee reside in Los Angeles continues to perform together as a duo, as soloists, and as chamber musicians in various countries.

Biography courtesy of the IMF Chicago website.


Three Cantatas, by Johann Sebastian Bach
Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring, BWV 147
Sheep May Safely Graze, BWV 208
Sleepers Awake, BWV 140

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in C-Sharp Minor, S. 244, No. 2, by Franz Liszt

Selections from The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, by Astor Piazzolla
Buenos Aires Winter
Buenos Aires Summer