Carnegie Hall Opening Night with Renée Fleming, Audra McDonald, and the San Francisco Symphony

July 5, 2019, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

We launch the new season of Carnegie Hall broadcasts with the storied venue’s 2018-19 opening night. Michael Tilson Thomas leads the San Francisco Symphony and distinguished vocalists Renée Fleming and Audra McDonald in a program of Gershwin, Villa-Lobos, and Liszt, plus excerpts from film scores.


Gershwin: Cuban Overture

Gershwin: “Summertime” from Porgy and Bess

Villa-Lobos: Aria from Bachianas brasileiras No. 5 (arr. Mark Volkert)

Liszt: Mephisto Waltz No. 1

Bock/Harnick “Vanilla Ice Cream” from She Loves Me

Guettel: “Fable” from The Light in the Piazza

Stephen Sondheim/Rodgers “Children Will Listen” from Into the Woods / “You’ve Got To Be Carefully Taught” from South Pacific (arr. Rob Fisher; orch. Bruce Coughlin)

Nyro: “Save the Country” (arr. Michael Tilson Thomas; orch. Bruce Coughlin)

Gershwin: An American in Paris