Natalie Vargas Nedvetsky

January 8, 2020, 12:15 pm

Share this Post

Chicago native Natalie Vargas Nedvetsky presents two works by Brahms and Prokofiev on this program.

Natalie Vargas Nedvetsky, 22, is originally from Chicago, IL and has performed extensively throughout the United States and Europe, in halls such as Carnegie Hall, Chicago Symphony Orchestra Hall, Harris Theatre, Concert Noble Brussels, and more. As an avid solo and chamber performing artist, she has won prizes at YoungArts, Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, Chicago Symphony Orchestra Young Artists Competition, Yamaha USASU International Piano Competition, and Bradshaw and Buono International Piano Competition. In 2015, she was one of 9 pianists worldwide selected to be a Wilhelm Kempff Foundation Scholar and study in the Wilhelm Kempff Masterkurs in Positano, Italy under the guidance of Bernd Goetzke. Natalie has also been featured several times on 98.7 WFMT (Chicago’s main classical music radio station) as a soloist and chamber musician. In the summer of 2018, Natalie was selected to perform in the highly competitive Finckel/Wu Han Chamber Workshop at the Aspen Music Festival and School. This past summer, she was one of 6 pianists chosen to perform at the Kneisel Hall Chamber Music Festival, described as the “cradle of chamber music in America”.

Natalie has studied privately and had masterclasses with such pedagogues as Menahem Pressler, Wu Han, Bernd Goetzke, Maxim Vengerov, Sylvia Rosenberg, and Yo Yo Ma. Natalie is pursuing her Bachelor’s Degree at The Juilliard School, under the tutelage of Joseph Kalichstein and Matti Raekallio.

Natalie is also a passionate writer, and has recently completed her first book of original poetry.

  • Four Klavierstücke, Op. 119, by Johannes Brahms
    Intermezzo in B Minor
    Intermezzo in E Minor
    Intermezzo in C Major
    Rhapsody in E-Flat Major

  • Visions Fugitives, Op. 22, by Sergei Prokofiev