Bass Anthony Reed and Pianist Chris Reynolds

December 5, 2021, 7:00 pm

Share this Post

Bass Anthony Reed and Pianist Chris Reynolds

Ryan Opera Center bass Anthony Reed along with Chris Reynolds on piano bring us a fascinating program of vocal bass works from the 16th to the 20th century. Including works by Monteverdi, Bach, Mozart, and Schubert. We will also hear selections from Gabriel Fauré’s Mirages and Erich Korngold’s Fünf Lieder.


“Quoniam tu solus sanctus” from Mass in B minor, by JS Bach

Seneca’s Death Scene from L’incoronazione di Poppea, by Claudio Monteverdi

“Per questa bella mano,” K. 612 with string bass, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Ian Halls, bass

From Schwanengesang, D. 957. by Franz Schubert
1. “Der Atlas”

2. “Das Fischermädchen”
3. “Der Doppelgänger”

From Mirages, Op. 113, by Gabriel Fauré
1. “Cygne sur l’eau”
2. “Reflets dans l’eau”
3. “Jardin nocturne”
4. “Danseuse”

From Fünf Lieder, Op. 38, by Erich Wolfgang Korngold
1. “Glückwunsch”
2. “Der Kranke”
3. “Kein Sonnenglanz im Auge”

“The Voice of the Sea” by Nathaniel Dett

Anthony Reed, bass; Chris Reynolds, piano