The Cleveland Orchestra

August 23, 2022, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Franz Welser-Möst (Photo: Julia Wesely)

The Cleveland Orchestra’s 2019 Carnegie Hall opening night performance was called “virtually flawless” (The New York Times). That’s exactly the level of excellence audiences have come to expect each time music director Franz Welser-Möst leads this outstanding orchestra. Their versatility is showcased in this program that features a sinfonia by George Walker, a Karol Szymanowski violin concerto influenced by Polish folk melodies, and Franz Schubert’s magnificently melodic and emotionally powerful “Great” Symphony. Multifaceted artist Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider is the violin soloist.

Adapted from Carnegie Hall


George Walker: Sinfonia No. 4, “Strands”

Karol Szymanowski: Violin Concerto No. 2
Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, violin

Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 9, “Great”