The Cleveland Orchestra

June 13, 2023, 8:00 pm

Share this Post

Franz Welser-Möst (Photo: Julia Wesely)

The Cleveland Orchestra, “one of the finest ensembles in the nation and the world” (The New York Times), returns with a program that highlights the versatility and incredible dynamic command of a top orchestra. Music director Franz Welser-Möst opens the program with a bold juxtaposition between the first and second Viennese schools, contrasting the dense, snaking harmonies of Berg’s Lyric Suite with Schubert’s passionate Symphony No. 8, which, though left unfinished at just two movements, remains one of his most enduringly popular works.

The second half of the concert is a journey unto itself, as the Cleveland Orchestra Chorus and world-renowned soloists join in Schubert’s dramatic Mass No. 6.


Alban Berg: Lyric Suite
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 8, “Unfinished”

Franz Schubert: Mass No. 6 in E-flat Major, D. 950
Joélle Harvey, soprano; Daryl Freedman, mezzo-soprano; Julian Prégardien, tenor; Martin Mitterrutzner, tenor; Dashon Burton, bass; Lisa Wong, chorus director;