Celebrating the Chinese New Year

China's NCPA | February 8, 2024, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Lü Jia holds his baton
Maestro Lü Jia

Celebrating the imminent start of the Chinese New Year on February 10, 2024, China’s NCPA Orchestra presents an astounding selection of works by Chinese and Western composers. The rousing Spring Festival Overture begins the program with a performance done in partnership with the China National Traditional Orchestra along with three other orchestras. We also hear Ravel’s Boléro and Ma Sicong’s Second Symphony following. Listeners will be thrilled by pipa virtuoso Li Jia’s performance of the concerto Little Sisters of the Grassland, and the broadcast closes with Lü Jia conducting Brahms’s Symphony No. 3.


Li Huanzhi: Spring Festival Overture for Chinese Orchestra
China National Traditional Orchestra, China Broadcasting Chinese Orchestra, China National Opera & Dance Drama Theatre Chinese Orchestra, and Beijing Chinese Orchestra; Peng Jiapeng, conductor

Maurice Ravel: Boléro

Ma Sicong: Symphony No. 2

Wu Zuqiang, Liu Dehai, Wang Yanqiao: Pipa Concerto, Little Sisters of the Grassland
Li Jia, pipa; Chen Lin, conductor

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90
Lü Jia, conductor