Zelenka’s Mass for All Saints

November 8, 2017, 10:00 pm

Share this Post

Fra Angelic: All Saints
Fra Angelic: All Saints

Czech composer Jan Lukáš (Dismas) Zelenka’s music was admired by Bach and other contemporaries for its harmonic and rhythmic inventiveness. His Missa Omnium Sanctorum (Mass for All Saints), written in 1741, is one of Zelenka’s few remaining masses, and  the last work he composed before his death.

This concert, recorded live on September 9, 2016, as part of the St. Wenceslas Music Festival, was held in Ostrava’s Evangelical Church of Christ, and features the Prague-based baroque orchestra Collegium 1704 and vocal ensemble Collegium Vocale 1704, under the direction of Václav Luks.


Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745)
Missa Omnium Sanctorum, ZWV 21
– Kyrie eleison
– Christe eleison
– Kyrie eleison II
– Qui tollis peccata mundi
– Quoniam tu solus Sanctus I
– Quoniam tu solus Sanctus II
– Cum sancto Spiritu I and II
– Credo
– Sanctus
– Benedictus
– Osanne
– Agnus Dei
– Dona nobis pacem

Soloists: soprano Alena Hellerová; tenor Václav Čížek; bass Stephan MacLeod
Ensemble: Collegium Vocale 1704
Orchestra: Collegium 1704
Director: Václav Luks

Opening & Closing Theme for Baroque&Before:
Joan Ambrosio Dalza: Piva, performed by Musica Reservata (Boston Skyline BSD 123)