LIVE | Sameer Agrawal, 17, violin

December 10, 2022, 11:00 am

Share this Post

Sameer Agrawal

This week we go live once more: violinist Sameer Agrawal joins pianist Milana Pavchinskaya for a live recital of Arutiunian, Perkinson, Bach, and Ravel.

Sameer Agrawal, 17, is a Merit Fellow at the Academy of the Music Institute of Chicago and studies violin with Sang Mee Lee. He is also a Fellow of the Chicago Musical Pathways Initiative. Sameer made his solo orchestral debut at age 12 with the NEIU Symphony and has also appeared with the Canton Symphony Orchestra, Oistrakh Symphony of Chicago, and the Symphony of Oak Park and River Forest, among others.

This year Sameer won second prize in the Cooper International Competition, was a semifinalist in the Johansen International Competition, and was a National YoungArts winner. He also received prizes at the DePaul Festival, Walgreens Competition, Society of American Musicians, Sejong Cultural Society, and the Music Festival in Honor of Confucius. Sameer has been featured on the Young Steinway and Stars of Tomorrow concert series, Make Music Chicago, the Thirsty Ears Music Festival, and the CSO Salon Series.

Sameer performs with the MIC Academy Chamber Orchestra and was co-concertmaster of the Chicago Youth-in-Music Festival Orchestra. He has played in several chamber ensembles through MIC and in the CMPI String Quartet. He first appeared on Introductions as a soloist in December 2019, and has appeared on WFMT as a member of four different string quartets in August 2020, in August 2021; in December 2021; and in August 2022.

Sameer performs on a violin by Paul Blanchard, 1884, courtesy of Guarneri Hall NFP and Darnton & Hersh Fine Violins, Chicago.

Instagram: @sameeragrawalviolin


Alexander Arutiunian: Violin Concerto, Armenia 88:
I. Andante sostenuto
II. Allegretto (Scherzando)

Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson: Blue/s Forms:
No. 1, Plain Blue/s
No. 2, Just Blue/s
No. 3, Jettin’ Blue/s

Johann Sebastian Bach: Solo Violin Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003:
III. Andante

Maurice Ravel: Tzigane