Paul Lewis and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra | January 18, 2024, 9:00 pm

Share this Post

Paul Lewis standing in a field barren field
Paul Lewis (Photo: Kaupo Kikkas)

In 1950s Manhattan, Bernstein’s electrifying dance rhythms punch and kick across the hot city streets. A world away, a composer in exile creates a masterpiece that’s part-symphony, part-ballet, and all Rachmaninoff. And in between, Liverpool’s own piano superstar Paul Lewis salutes jazz-age America in Copland’s Piano Concerto and George Gershwin’s irresistible Rhapsody in Blue.


Conducted by Domingo Hindoyan

Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Aaron Copland: Piano Concerto
Paul Lewis, piano

George Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
Paul Lewis, piano

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances, Op. 45